Gun Class

What are the qualifications to get a Concealed Permit ?

  1. Not have been deemed insane by the courts in less than five years preceding the date of application.
  2. Not be subject to a restraining or protective order.
  3. Not be convicted of a felony.
  4. Not have been convicted of two or more misdemeanors within five-year period preceding application, if one of the misdemeanors was a Class 1 misdemeanor.
  5. Not be addicted to marijuana, or be unlawful user or distributor.
  6. Not have been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces of the United States.
  7. Not have been convicted of any assault, battery, sexual battery within three years proceeding application.

Will this class be accepted by my state or county?

Yes, The United States Concealed Carry Association  certificate is accepted by every circuit court in Virginia for both resident and non-resident permits (multi-state). It must be accepted as per state law.

We guarantee it will be accepted in every county in Virginia or your money back!

What are the Virginia concealed carry laws?

Refer to the  Virginia State Police website.  Also refer to the Virginia Code:  Code of Virginia, Title 18.2, Chapter 7, Article 6.1

Who may take the class?

Anyone may take the class but , you must meet certain state requirements to receive your permit. The requirements are outlined in the first FAQ

How do I get my Virginia permit?

  1. Complete the class and obtain your Certificate for proof of course completion
  2. Take the certificate to your local Clerk of Courts and complete the Concealed Handgun Permit Application
  3. Pay the fees
  4. You will receive your permit in the mail within 45 days.
How much does the permit cost?

The fee varies, but can be no more than $50 by law for residents and $100 for Non Residents

What should I bring to the class?

Your driver's license or state-issued ID, $85 (payable with cash, or credit card), a pen and paper to take notes, and a good attitude are all you need.

Do i need to bring a handgun?

This is a non shooting class. You will not need a gun for this class.  Your instructor will cover how to select a handgun that's right for you in class.

Can I take the class if I’ve never fired a gun?

This class is for beginners or first time gun owners to help them understand the fundamentals of gun ownership The class covers shooting fundamentals and the operation of a handgun. You will leave the class knowing the basics of shooting.  This is a non shooting course.  

What states is my permit valid in?

Please refer to the reciprocity tab on this website.

How long is my permit valid?

Virginia permits are valid for 5 years.

How do I renew my permit?

Renewals can be submitted by mail to your local circuit court. Your new permit will take effect on the expiration date of your existing permit as long as your renewal application is received between 90 and 180 days prior to expiration.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software